Bcst Connect

The abc of trending content

The Honorable Christopher A. Hart, Member of the National Transportation Safety Board

The Honorable Christopher A. Hart, member of the National Transportation Safety Board

Vaughn College will celebrate its 85th Commencement on Saturday, May 20, 2017 beginning at 10 a.m. in the William R. DeCota Hangar. The Honorable Christopher A. Hart, former chairman and member of the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB), will deliver the commencement address to more than 170 graduates. He will also be awarded an honorary degree by President Dr. Sharon B. DeVivo at the ceremony.

“I am honored to address the graduates, young men and women, who will undoubtedly be significant contributors to our society and economy,” said Hart. “And kudos to Vaughn College for making this opportunity available to them.”

Hart became a member of the NTSB in August 2009, and was designated vice chairman by President Barack Obama. He served as acting chairman from April 26, 2014, until he was appointed by President Obama as chairman on March 16, 2015. His term as chairman ended on March 15, 2017, and he is now serving as a member. His 5-year term as member will end December 31, 2017.

From 1973 until 1990, member Hart held a series of legal positions, mostly in the private sector. He joined the NTSB for the first time in 1990 and served until 1993. From 1993 until 1995, he was deputy administrator of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, then went on to serve as Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) assistant administrator for system safety and FAA deputy director for air traffic safety oversight before returning to the NTSB in 2009.

Hart holds a law degree from Harvard University and master’s and bachelor’s degrees in aerospace engineering from Princeton University. He is a member of the District of Columbia Bar and the…

Read the full article from the Source…

Back to Top